What is Title I?

Title I is a federal education program under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) of 1965 reauthorized as No Child Left Behind (NCLB) in 2001.

Title I includes four major parts:

  • Part A: Improving the Academic Achievement of the Disadvantaged.
  • Part B: Even Start Family Literacy.
  • Part C: Migrant Education.
  • Part D: Services for Neglected or Delinquent Children & Youth.

Title I, Part A provides Utah with Federal funds each year to help higher poverty schools provide supplemental educational services to meet the needs of educationally disadvantaged students.

What are the goals of Title I?

  • Help students to achieve academic success in Reading/Language Arts and Mathematics;
  • Increase student performance in high poverty schools through school-wide reform;
  • Build teacher capacity through quality professional development; and
  • Enhance parents’ abilities to help their children succeed through
    quality parental involvement activities.

Bruin Point Elementary Student-Parent-School Compact

Student success is a result of a team effort in learning and support. This compact outlines the commitments the student, parent, and school team commit to each other to achieve success in learning. 

Parent and Family Engagement Protocol